Dodgers win the 2020 World Series

Los Angeles wins the series in six games 


Photo Courtesy of Mat Weller / Unsplash

The Los Angeles Dodgers have broken their World Series drought of 32 years, winning their fourth game with a score of 3-1 in Game 6 of the first to four series against the Tampa Bay Rays.

Blake Snell started for the Rays, pitching 5 ⅔ innings allowing just two hits and one run with nine strikeouts. Snell was followed by relievers Nick Anderson, Aaron Loup, Pete Fairbanks, and Ryan Yarbrough who combined to cede three hits and two runs with two strikeouts. 

On the opposing side, Tony Gonsolin started for the Dodgers, pitching 1 ⅔ innings allowing three hits and one run with four strikeouts. Gonsolin was followed by relievers Dylan Floro, Alex Wood, Pedro Baez, Victor Gonzales, Brusudar Graterol and Julio Urías who allowed just two hits and zero runs with 12 strikeouts. 

On the offensive side of the game, it was a low scoring affair with the game being a pitcher-dominated match. 

In the top of the first inning, Tampa Bay star Randy Arozarena hit a solo homer to get the Rays on the board. No other runs would be scored until the bottom of the sixth when the Dodgers strung together a series of hits to take the lead, 2-1. Later, Dodgers’ right fielder, Mookie Betts, would stretch the lead with a solo home run in the bottom of the eighth, making the game 3-1, which was ultimately the final score.

After the game, the World Series MVP went to Dodgers shortstop, Corey Seager. Seager posted a .400 batting average and two home runs in the World Series. In addition to the MVP trophy, he also was awarded a 2020 Chevrolet Tahoe. 

“I’m relieved and excited the Dodgers won the World Series this year. I didn’t think they could do it due to their past postseason experiences,” junior and Oak Park High School varsity baseball player Ty Viane said.